INVITO:10°Conferenza Internazionale l’EU, la Turchia e i Kurdi


La 10° Conferenza internazionale sull’Unione Europea, la Turchia, e Kurdi – “La Turchia, i Kurdi e il processo di pace Imrali: un’opportunità storica”, si svolgerà presso il Parlamento UE 4-5 dicembre 2013. Con la presente Vi invitiamo cordialmente a partecipare alla conferenza come occasione da non perdere.

Le invito di inviare le iscrizioni a compreso i vostri dettagli; (nome e cognome, la data di nascita, indirizzo di residenza e numero di un documento valido) è richiesto dal Parlamento Europeo entro il 28 novembre.



Turkey, the Kurds and the Imrali Peace Process: An Historic Opportunity

Brussels, European Parliament, 4th & 5th of December 2013
Room: ASP 1G2

Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, South Africa
Dr. Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Iran
Bianca Jagger, Council of Europe Goodwill Ambassador e Chair of the Bianca Jagger Human Rights Foundation, UK
Professor Noam Chomsky, Writer, USA
Yasar Kemal, Writer, Turkey
Vedat Turkali, Writer, Turkey
Leyla Zana, European Parliament’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought,Rafto Prize Laureate, Turkey

An official “European Parliament personal badge / pass” will be provided to all participants to the Conference.

All participants MUST communicate by mail to the following information:

1) Name and surname
2) Date of birth
3) Place and country of residence (if possible, the full address of residence)
4) Number of a valid document (ex: passport, national ID, etc…)
This information must be sent to the above-mentioned mail before the 28th of NOVEMBER 2013.
Please note that NO ACCREDITATION will be accepted after this deadline, according to the rules established by the Security Department of the European Parliament.
Your “personal badge / pass” will be available at the main entrance of the European Parliament (Place de Luxembourg – main European Parliament’s building “Altiero Spinelli” – just after the sliding doors you’ll find a conference desk), during AND ONLY the following date / hours.
– Wednesday 4th of December 2013, from 14h30 until 16h30
– Thursday 5th of December 2013, from 08h30 until 10h30
– Thursday 5th of December 2013, from 14h00 until 16h00
Please note that all participants must take care of their own “EP badge / pass” during both days; if someone lose the “pass / badge” it will be impossible for the conference’s organizers to replace it, according to the E.P. internal rules.
For any additional information, please contact the conference’s secretariat:

Wednesday, 4th December 2013, 15.00-16.30
Opening Session, Room ASP 1G2
Opening Remarks and Greetings
*Ms. Kariane Westrheim, PhD
Chair of EUTCC, Associate Professor, University of Bergen, Norway
*MEP Ms. Gabi Zimmer
Chair of the European United Left – Nordic Green Left Group (GUE/NGL) in the
European Parliament, Germany
* European Parliament’s representative (TBC)
* Me Antoine Comte, Lawyer , France

Opening Speeches:
* Mr. Orhan Pamuk, Writer, Nobel Literature Prize Laureate, Turkey (TBC)
* MP Ms. Leyla Zana Member of the Turkish Parliament, European Parliament’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom
of Thought, Rafto Prize Laureate, Turkey
* MP Mr. Gerry Adams, Chair of Sinn Fein, Ireland (TBC)
Video messages of Conference’s Patrons
* Video trailer of previous nine conferences
* Professor Noam Chomsky, Writer, the USA
* Mr. Yasar Kemal, writer, Turkey

Wednesday, 4th December 2013, 16.30-18.30
Panel I, Room ASP 1G2
Reforming the State and Reconciling Society:
Constitutional, political and social reforms in Turkey
Moderators: MEP Mr. Jürgen Klute, Coordinator of the EP-Kurds Friendship Group, GUE/NGL Group, Germany
* MP Gulten Kisanak, co-Chair, BDP, Turkey
* Hüseyin Yayman, Academic & Member of the Wise people Commission, Turkey
*Dogu Ergil, Academic & Member of the Wise people Commission, Turkey
* Hasan Cemal, Journalist, Turkey
* Hugh Pope, International Crisis Group

Questions and discussion with moderators & discussants
Thursday, 5 December 2013, 09.30-11.30
Panel II, Room ASP 1G2
The role of the European Union in the Imrali Peace Process:
Promoting justice and democracy in Turkey

1) MEP Mr. Søren Bo Søndergaard, GUE/NGL Group, Denmark
2) Lale Mansur, Actress & Member of the Wise People Commission, Turkey (TBC)

* MP Ahmet Türk, co-Chair of the DTK, Turkey
* Turkish Government Representative (TBC)
* EU Commission’s representative (TBC)
* Member of European Parliament of EPP Group
* Member of European Parliament of S&D Group
*Member of European Parliament of ADLE Group
* Member of European Parliament of Greens-EFA Group

Questions and discussion with moderators & discussants
Thursday, 5th December 2013, 11.30-13.00
Panel III, Room ASP 1G2
Peace-building Initiatives:
Opportunities for political engagement in Turkey, the EU and internationally

Mr. Hans Branscheidt, EUTCC, Germany

* Mr. David L. Phillips, Director, Program on Peace-building and Rights, Columbia University Institute for the Study of Human Rights, USA
*MEP Ms. Marie-Christine Vergiat, GUE/NGL Group, France
* Dr. Günter Seufert, German Institute for International and Security Affarirs – SWP, Germany
Questions and discussion with moderators & discussants

Thursday, 5th December 2013, 15.00-17.30
Panel IV, Room ASP 1G2
The Kurdish Democratic Project:
Strategies and policies to bring peace to the Middle East
Professor Michael Gunter, EUTCC, United States of America

Judge Essa Moosa, International Peace and Reconciliation Initiative, South Africa
* Jonathan Spyer, Middle East analyst
* Joost Jongerden, Academic, the Netherlands
* Barham A. Salih, Former Prime Minister of the KRG, Kurdistan (TBC)
* Lord Paddy Ashdown, Diplomat, the UK (TBC)
* Amberin Zaman, Turkey Correspondent of the Economist, Turkey
* A representative of the KNK
* A representative of the Kurdish Supreme Council in Syria

Questions and discussion with moderators & discussants

Thursday, 5th December 2013, 17.30-18.30
Panel V, Room ASP 1G2
Conclusions, Recommendations and Final Remarks
by EUTCC Boards Of Canada